How do I love thee? Let me count the degrees– Slice of Life Challenge Day 5

How do I love thee? Let me count the degrees.

I love thee to the depth the temperature

Can reach, when feeling in my toes and cheeks

has fled and left me leaden without heat.

I love thee most when least degrees there are,

For on those cold dark days what games do come–

Aye there’s the rub.

We shuffle in all bundled from the core

With coats, hats, scarves, with gloves, and mittens more–

As big around with poufy layers on

As I am tall beside your skated form.

Oh, to be warm!

Yet week on week we pack the hockey bag

Climb in the car, and to the rink we drag

All manner of layers, blankets, clothes

To strive, to seek, to find and not to yield (the warmth).

 

I was inspired by the suggestion to try a poem…and by a particularly cold early morning game today. Points if you can identify any of the various mentor texts represented here. Bonus points if you can spot where I inverted one of my mentor texts.

 

Being cold is quite possibly the thing I like least in the world.

So both my boys are hockey players.

 

Lots of things make the hockey life a hard one…long drives, long hours, early mornings, late nights, seeing your children hurt or injured (those are not the same thing). But for me, the cold is usually the hardest. 2/3 of the way through any game my toes start to ice up and the chill climbs up through my bones into my soul. On the days when the games are back to back, when hour three at the rink begins and the second game won’t end for another two…it would take an industrial, mammoth sized hand dryer blowing across my icy appendages to start to thaw me out.

So, Boys, always remember I love you both.

3 thoughts on “How do I love thee? Let me count the degrees– Slice of Life Challenge Day 5

  1. Brrrr…yesterday was so cold, Katie! Love the poem! However, poetry is not my strong suit. So I will acknowledge your courage and creativity, and make no attempt to identify any mentor texts today. πŸ™‚ Your post alludes to the incredible dedication parenting requires. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  2. Lovely slice. Loved your poem. A little bit of Shakespeare influence?
    I was never a hockey mom – my son was into soccer, even in the winter and in his teens was at elite level, so there was some traveling. What we dfo for our kids – but wouldn’t have missed it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

